Black Tea Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt

If you’ve been on Pinterest at all in the last couple of years, you have probably scrolled past this post at least a dozen times. You know, the post for Earl Grey Oatmeal with the absolutely stunning photography? Well, after pinning it and looking at it and deciding “nah, it takes too long to make” almost every weekend for the last 2 years, I’ve finally made it. And for those of you worrying, it actually takes maybe 20 minutes to make; I’m just hella lazy which is why I was tempted to make my normal toast with yogurt on top for breakfast instead. But no, today I can triumphantly say that I made oatmeal with yogurt on top. It’s the little victories, you know?Tea-Infused Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt// (likethebean) Tea-Infused Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt// (likethebean) Tea-Infused Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt// (likethebean)

Also, I attempted food styling this time around. My wonderful friends bought me these beautiful dish towels from Anthropologie under the assumption that I would use them for this blog. I hope I made you guys somewhat proud/ I will get better at this.

Tea-Infused Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt// (likethebean)

Tea-Infused Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt// (likethebean)

Now, I’m off to learn the parts of the brain because tomorrow I get to dissect sheep and horse brains. I’m so excited. And with that, enjoy the oatmeal!

Tea-Infused Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt// (likethebean)

*Notes: Any tea, spices, and sweetener can be used in this recipe. Like most of the recipes on this cite, this one is very flexible and can be modified based on personal preferences. Also, if you like a gluey-er oatmeal, leave it on the stove for a little longer. Likewise, if you want a more liquid oatmeal, take it off the burner to cool a few minutes early.

Black Tea Oatmeal with Spiced Yogurt
For the oatmeal:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
1/2 cup water
2 teabags of black tea I used one Ceylon and one Assam 
2 teaspoons agave
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

For the spiced yogurt:
1 tablespoon greek yogurt
1/2 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cardamom
2 teaspoons almond milk (to thin yogurt)

How-to:
In a small pot, add teabags to the milk and water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove teabags and add oats, reducing the mixture to a simmer. Simmer for 10-15 minutes, stirring frequently. Once consistency is to your liking, remove from heat and add the agave, vanilla extract, and pinch of salt.

While the oatmeal is cooling, combine the greek yogurt, honey and spices in a small bowl. Add almond milk to thin yogurt.

Add oatmeal to your favorite bowl, drizzle the top with the yogurt, and enjoy!

-likethebean!

Leave a Reply

