Whatever-You-Have Buddha Bowl

So, this is a Buddha bowl. A Buddha bowl. Not only that, it is a Buddha bowl I am making and writing about instead of doing my assigned readings for a class that begins tomorrow because this bowl is just that good. (And because I really don’t want to read another scientific article on argoecology.) (Also, why do teachers insist on assigning homework before school actually begins? Can’t we end our summers happily? //end rant//)

DSC_0006 DSC_0009 buddha1

I actually had to look up what a Buddha bowl is because, even though it seems to be a favorite on Pinterest and Instagram, the name gives no indication of what it’s composed of. So, for those of you who don’t know, you’ve probably been making Buddha bowls forever because it is just a bowl full of veggies, greens, beans, and/or some sort of grain.

DSC_0016 DSC_0017 DSC_0019

In other news, school began yesterday and I am excited/scared to be without a meal plan. Yes, I am a junior. And yes, I lived in an apartment last year and still had a meal plan. It was only a small meal plan though, but one that allowed me to buy food on campus with meal points instead of cash. But now I have decided to be a semi-real adult and live without the comfort and security that comes with being able to carry around only my student card and still be able to eat, and have started to make all my own meals at home so I can pack them in my Spongebob tupperware to eat on campus. I am very adult.

DSC_0021 DSC_0023

DSC_0028

So, for my first week of lunches, I’ve decided to make this absolutely fantastic Buddha bowl with whatever fixings I had in my fridge. And it is so good. And you should make it.

Enjoy!

DSC_0001 DSC_0004

Notes: This recipe can be made with whatever veggies/beans/grains you have on hand, so feel free to experiment with different textures and flavors. I’ve made this with sweet potato, kale, broccoli, zucchini,…as well as quinoa and brown rice. This recipe is grain-free but doesn’t have to be. You do you. 

*Adapted from Minimalist Baker*

Whatever-You-Have Buddha Bowl

For the veggies:

Yellow zucchini
Head of cauliflower
1/2 tablespoon oil
Pinch of salt & pepper

For the chickpeas:
1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon oregano
Pinch of salt & pepper
1 teaspoon of oil

For the sauce:
1/4 cup tahini
1 tablespoons agave
2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice

How-to:
Veggies // Preheat oven to 400˚. Slice and dice veggies, toss with oil, salt and pepper, bake for 25 minutes.

Chickpeas // Heat a large pan with oil. Toss chickpeas with spice mixture. Add the pan and toast for 10 minutes, or until fragrant and slightly brown.

Sauce // Mix ingredients together until a sauce forms. Add hot water to get desired consistency.

-likethebean!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You’re right — I’ve been making Buddha Bowls forever without realizing it. Who knew? Going to try adding garbanzo beans with those spices. I even have smoked paprika for a twist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

