Tomales Bay Point, Point Reyes

I’m back in the Bay! I returned to Berkeley a few days ago and ohmygoodness, after the heatwave we had in SoCal, 70˚ weather is so. nice. In fact, I realized the first night back while walking around Elmwood that I couldn’t even remember the last time I needed to wear a jacket. And you know what? It feels really good to bring out all my sweaters and wear them.

DSC_0001 DSC_0009 DSC_0012

On my second day back in Berkeley I found myself in a car with my best friends on the way to Point Reyes for a 9-mile hike. Yes, you read that right: 9 miles. I think only the driver realized that the hike was that long, because what sane person who is in mildly good shape would want to spend 4 hours hiking? BUT it is absolutely worth it when the 4 hours is spent surrounded by breathtaking beauty.

DSC_0017 DSC_0023 DSC_0024 DSC_0032 DSC_0059

We stopped at Bovine Bakery before we hit the trail. If I were ever to live out my dreams of owning a bakery in a small town, this is what it would look like. Absolutely adorable and filled with a great variety of delicious pastries and baked goods. If it wasn’t an hour away, I would go there all the time. (Actually, I just moved into a new apt and there is such a cute bakery/ coffee shop a block away! Had the best apple turnover and latte there this morning *thumbs up*)

DSC_0061 DSC_0063 DSC_0070 DSC_0078 DSC_0081 DSC_0087

We hit the trail around 11:30am and made it back to the car around 4pm. The trail is really diverse in that you will be walking through grass getting stared at by elk, then see a little oasis with a lake surrounded by animals, then hit some trees, then struggle through sand and brush.

DSC_0092 DSC_0094 DSC_0098 DSC_0105 DSC_0107

The point was absolutely. unbelievably. breathtaking. So gorgeous. If I were to go back I’d bring a little pack lunch and sit and eat with the view of the ocean before me. In reality we ate our pastries from Bovine, which was equally perfect.

DSC_0115 DSC_0116 DSC_0123 DSC_0130 DSC_0132

Take a camera. Take lots of pictures. Cry tears of joy. Soak in the beauty. Breathe in the salty, misty air. Enjoy.

DSC_0135 DSC_0139

-likethebean!

Leave a Reply

