Cabo

I can’t believe that within the span of 48 hours I’ve gone from lounging in the crystal clear water of the Sea of Cortez to frantically packing all the items I need for college while watching “The Devil Wears Prada.” Where does the time go? It always amazes me how relative time is. A few minutes at work can seem like hours, while an hour on vacation can pass by in minutes.

DSC_0003 DSC_0014 DSC_0016 DSC_0031 DSC_0038

By vacation I mean my recent family trip to Cabo. Did you guys know I went to Mexico? Probably not, unless you read the “Notes” section of my last post or actually know me in person. Anyways, the important thing is that I did go to Mexico and that I did spend a wonderful 5 days immersing myself in another culture and learning the sweet rhythm of the waves.

DSC_0041 DSC_0044 DSC_0046 DSC_0058 DSC_0059 DSC_0063 DSC_0066 DSC_0070 DSC_0086 DSC_0092 DSC_0098

Here’s what we did: The first day we arrived at our hotel around 4ish, ate some bomb-ass nachos, and spent the rest of the evening in the ocean. I don’t know what was going on that first night, but the tide was high. Like high high. Currents so strong that half the time I felt like a battered rag doll, thrown into the sand by one wave only to be pulled back into the sea and struck again by two more waves. Eventually, my brother and I learned the rhythm of the waves and even had a little game going where we’d swim in with a wave, use our hands on the sand to push us back into the water, duck under the incoming waves, and ride the big wave back in. I swallowed and inhaled so much of that salty water that, by the time we got out of the ocean, my eyes, nose, and throat were burning. But hey, still worth it.

DSC_0122 DSC_0129 DSC_0130 DSC_0075 DSC_0152 DSC_0156 DSC_0159 DSC_0161

The second day we decided to explore the big town to the west, aka Cabo San Lucas. The guides at our hotel told us that Cabo was the city to explore, for the little town to the east was not for tourists. So, we took the bus to Cabo San Lucas and found, much to our dismay, that it was a total tourist town. There was a big mall, a marina, a bunch of bars and not much else. We traveled a little away from the main area and found a small flea market, but besides that, the town was mostly aimed at tourists looking to drink or shop. Disappointed, we headed back to our hotel to lounge in the ocean.

DSC_0169 DSC_0172 DSC_0178 DSC_0185 DSC_0188 DSC_0193 DSC_0200 DSC_0214 DSC_0219 DSC_0220 DSC_0222

The next day, we took a boat tour of Cabo San Lucas Bay and went snorkeling! Man, those waters are beautiful *heart eyes emoji*. We passed Pelican Beach, Lover’s Beach, and the Arches, then stopped around El Tule to do some snorkeling. Our guides took us through schools of fish, above and around sharp rocks covered in sea life, and even under our boat to see the creatures that hung out in the shade. Honestly, I think that was the only time in my life I have ever wanted a GoPro. To have documented that experience would have been amazing. Unfortunately, I forgot to put sunscreen on my back and legs, and by the time we got back to the hotel I was bright red and tender. Still didn’t stop me from swimming in the ocean again. Girl gotta do, what a girl gotta do. BUT WAIT. I totally forgot this but my brother got stung by a jellyfish! A JELLYFISH. On his face, no less. Yeah, so there’s that.

DSC_0237 DSC_0241 DSC_0246 DSC_0248 DSC_0251 DSC_0255 DSC_0259 DSC_0263 DSC_0269 DSC_0270 DSC_0274 DSC_0281 DSC_0288 DSC_0292 DSC_0295 DSC_0298 DSC_0299 DSC_0302 DSC_0304 DSC_0306 DSC_0309 DSC_0310 DSC_0315 DSC_0318 DSC_0319 DSC_0321

We explored the other town, San Jose del Cabo, the next day. It was hot. I mean, the whole trip was characterized by high temperatures and humidity levels, but that day, and in an area more inland, was hot. Like, 97˚F with 75% humidity hot. But that should not deter you from visiting! This town was everything we wanted Cabo San Lucas to be. The streets were lined with colorful buildings and cute shops, adorable lampposts and art galleries, and centered around a town square that housed the Parroquia San Jose (a church). Our intention was to find a candy shop, but the only one in town was closed, so we opted for ice cream instead and then explored more. By the time we were off of the bus and in our hotel, we were all so tired and sweaty that we collapsed on our beds and watched a good 4 episodes of “The Simpsons.” No ocean for us; we were all scared of getting stung by the jellyfish (mom had gotten stung in the morning, too).

DSC_0103 DSC_0105 DSC_0109

The last day, we hung out in the pool (no ocean, remember?), packed our bags and said “Adios!” to the beach, the hotel, and the oppressive weather.

***Oh, by the way, we drank the tap water and we were fine.

-likethebean!

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow it looks so beautiful there!!!! You take amazing pictures btw! & I can’t believe your brother got stung on his face, that had to hurt!!! :/

    Like

  2. After seeing your photos, I actually want to visit Cabo now! I’m not really a beach person, but it does offer tranquility. The pictures were great and a good read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

