Peanut butter snack cookies

Today marks the end of my time as a full-time working lady. How did this summer go by so quickly? Was it only 2 and a half months ago that I first walked into the law firm to get my building badge and sign all those pesky HR papers? It feels like a lifetime ago, and yet it’s already over.

DSC_0005 DSC_0009

It reminds me to savor every moment, because the most mundane activities, like talking to Ernie while I scanned papers, or sharing chocolate with Melody, are the ones I’ll miss the most. It reminds me that, in the scheme of things, everything is ephemeral, and to get where we want and need to go, we have to constantly be changing and moving onwards and forwards.

DSC_0025

As I made the journey home from work, I felt waves of very intense, very contradictory emotions wash over me. Everything became very sentimental. The walk I’ve made twice a day, everyday this summer, from the metro stop to work and back, suddenly became something I was already starting to miss; even the homeless men I pass earned a place in my heart.

DSC_0032

I’m grateful, so immensely grateful, for the opportunity I was given this summer. Not only was I making money, but I was doing so while gaining valuable work experience and interacting with some of the most interesting, intelligent people I’ve ever met. People whose life stories would astound you, people who have experienced so much sadness and hardship to last them five lifetimes that it is unbelievably humbling and inspiring to see what the human spirit can not only endure, but conquer and rebound even stronger than before. 
DSC_0038

But the problem with working just for the summer is that, well, you have to leave when the summer ends. And in doing so, leave the people and experiences behind as well, revisiting them only as memories. So, take it all in. If there’s anything this summer has taught me, other than how to make discovery shells (ha), is that nothing should ever be taken for granted. Remember every moment, every laugh, every tear, because nothing lasts forever. So, to the people I worked with (I’m looking at you, Ernie), you will be remembered.

DSC_0041

You will not be forgotten.

DSC_0042

Notes: These cookies are not sweet, hence the “snack” in the name. I made these to bring with me on the plane to Mexico, so they’re something you can nibble on without getting a sugar high. Feel free to substitute the peanut butter for any other nut butter, and the maple syrup/honey for agave or a combination. For a crumblier cookie, bake for 8 minutes. For a softer cookie, bake for 6 minutes. 
*based off Oh, Ladycakes*

PEANUT BUTTER SNACK COOKIES

4 tablespoons peanut butter
5 teaspoons coconut oil
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 tablespoon honey
2 teaspoons unsweetened almond milk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup oat flour
pinch of salt if using unsalted peanut butter

First things first: Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Preheat oven to 325˚F.

For the wet mixture: Mix together peanut butter, coconut oil, maple syrup, honey, vanilla, and almond milk until combined.

For the dry mixture: Combine oat flour and cinnamon.

For the finale: Add dry mixture to wet mixture. Scoop out teaspoon-sized balls onto the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 6-8 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack and eat when cool.

-likethebean!

0 Comments

Add yours →

One Pingback

  1. Cabo | (like the bean)

Leave a Reply

