Multnomah Falls & Bonneville Dam

This marks the end of the Oregon Series of posts. Are you sad? Crying a little? Or are you over-the-moon ecstatic that you will no longer have to see exclusively pictures of Oregon on this blog? I’m a little bit of both, to be quite honest. I’m sad about ending this, because through these posts I have vicariously relived that amazing trip. But I’m also goddamn happy because I need to write about something else for a while. I didn’t want to interrupt the Oregon post-chain I started, but now that it’s over I can post whatever the hell I want again.

DSC_0004 DSC_0021 DSC_0049

I guess I could have come up with other post ideas in the meantime…but I’m too impatient to come up with something only to keep it to myself for a few solid weeks. I need the instant gratification that comes with thinking up a blogpost idea and publishing it within a few hours. I would do terribly in that marshmallow study, I really would. Also did you count how many times I said “post”?

DSC_0037 DSC_0041 DSC_0056 DSC_0068

Onto what this entry (used a different word) is about…Multnomah Falls and Bonneville Dam. And dam Oregon is beautiful. Nature is beautiful. ~nature~. That was really the main takeaway of hiking Multnomah Falls. Can you believe that, if we just left the earth alone, completely undisturbed, that such insane magnificence could happen?

DSC_0072

DSC_0059 DSC_0085DSC_0119

Studying environmental science at Berkeley has already taught me to appreciate all the amazing things our home has to offer, but to see it first hand is something as mind-blowing as it is sad. Sad? How is it sad? I remember in a class last year our professor asked how many of us had been to a farm. I was the only one that replied I had never, that I could remember, been to a farm. When they stared at me in disbelief I just shrugged and said, “I’m from L.A.” There is nothing natural about Los Angeles. Everything is skyscrapers and concrete, cars and smog and people struggling to pay the rent. We have a beautiful home and we are replacing it with that? Tell me that is not sad.

DSC_0124 DSC_0133

Chris

DSC_0173 DSC_0193 DSC_0205

poop

DSC_0209

Now to be not so depressing. Ha. Sorry. Multnomah falls is drop dead gorgeous, and an easy hike, too. The way up is mostly trees and rocks and natural shrubbery, all the while overlooking a river (on the other side of which is Washington). At the top, though, you reach the water. Man, is it something. I can’t even describe it. Just look at the photos, haha.

DSC_0252 DSC_0272

DSC_0269

closing

DSC_0287 DSC_0299

Bonneville Dam was also pretty cool. It looked fake, it was so beautiful. We saw a freighter passing through, too. It also has an underwater viewing station where you can see the salmon ladder (’cause salmon need to swim upstream, which is hard when there’s a dam blocking their way.ugh.people.) The eels in the ladder had attached themselves to the glass and it looked like something out of Alien. It was horrifying but I couldn’t look away.

DSC_0307

I’ll leave you with this image. Sleep well tonight, suckas.

-likethebean!

Leave a Reply

